Skip to content

Do you want me to take him now?

June 10, 2009

I have noticed a pattern emerging when we are out walking long distances where at least one of the boys needs to be held or pushed in the stroller for a stretch of time. I know daddy hasn’t developed the stamina for carrying the kids for long periods of time, as well as the hips to distribute their weight. I can manage for quite a while, on the other hand, out of habit and by ignoring my tired arms. The boys are getting pretty heavy now though and things like climbing stairs or walking up steep hills are really difficult with an extra 25 pounds or 70 pounds if they are both in the stroller.

So last night after the ball game we told the kids we could climb the stairs and use the pedestrian bridge over the street, which was completely unnecessary because the street below was closed to traffic. The two big kids were climbing on their own and I was holding the little booger. He was really tired and mostly dead weight. My legs were shaking by the time we got to the top of the stairs. My wonderful husband said “here let me take him for you now” thinking he’s doing me some huge favor. Are you kidding, I am fine now that we are going down. Where were you at the bottom offering to carry him up the stairs. This has become a frequent trend on our excursions. At the zoo I push the boys all the way up the hill then he steps in all hero like at the top of the hill, me tired and legs shaking, and offers to push the boys. It’s a nice gesture, but I can handle easy stretches even after the tough ones.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. deanna permalink
    June 22, 2009 5:17 am

    Classic!

  2. Bart permalink
    June 23, 2009 1:17 am

    Your point of view is very funny. This is not how it happens at all.

Leave a Reply

